Skip to content
7 July, 2008 / Erik

THE DARK KNIGHT DEVOTED: Maggie Gyllenhaal

Back from a July Fourth break with more tales of the Batman. Today, Maggie Gyllenhaal tells me (for CBR News) about assuming the role of Rachel Dawes in “The Dark Knight.”

In “Batman Beings,” Rachel Dawes was introduced as a childhood friend and eventual love interest for Christian Bale’s Bruce Wayne. Played by Katie Holmes, the character revealed Batman’s true mask. In “The Dark Knight,” Rachel is played by Maggie Gyllenhaal, who talked to CBR News about taking over the rule and making a big studio film.

In assuming the role of Dawes, Gyllenhaal said she needed approval from one person: Katie Holmes. “Before I decided to do the movie, I wanted to make sure I had her blessing. I didn’t want to do it if it wasn’t okay with her,” she said. “I was assured that I absolutely [had her blessing]. I’m a fan of hers and I think she’s a lovely actress and I thought she was great in the previous movie.”

More at CBR.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. movie buff / Aug 28 2008 8:29 am

    i still wish Katie Holmes had stayed on board as Rachel Dawes for the Dark Knight; it was like the time spent getting familiar with her character in Batman Begins was wasted…

Leave a Reply

